Professor Hawthorne receives the National Medal of Science

Fred Hawthorne

President Barack Obama named University of Missouri researcher M. Frederick Hawthorne as recipient of the National Medal of Science, the highest honor bestowed by the country to scientists. Hawthorne is the director of the International Institute of Nano and Molecular Medicine at MU, as well as Curators’ Distinguished Professor of Chemistry and Radiology.