Advancing Science: Mizzou researchers elected to prestigious scientific society

Four Mizzou scientists (three in Chemistry) have been recognized for their innovative work.

MU Researcher Contributes to the Study of Cancer-Fighting Tools

Nuclear medicine is the branch of medicine that uses radioactive materials to provide diagnostics and treatments for cancer. Often, standard protocols involve using radioactive isotopes developed to image as well as weaken cancer cells in the body.

MU Researcher Leads Developments in Pharmaceuticals and Energy Storage

Chemistry is a branch of physical science studying composition, structure and properties of matter.

Decades of Research by MU Scientist Leads to Advancements in Nanotechnologies

Nanotechnology is the study and engineering of matter and microscopic structures. These tiny systems continue to gain interest for their promise and commercial application. Henry C.

MU CHIPs in to train future scientists: College immersion program acknowledged by NSF

A Twitter conversation helped a joint Biochemistry and Chemistry program be noticed by the National Science Foundation.

Congratulations to Christian Mason and Emilia Zargham

Congratulations to Christian Mason and Emilia Zargham for being recipients of the 2014 Missouri Students Association “TA Choice Awards!!” The awards are presented to 10 teaching assistants campus-wide who are nominated by their students in recognition of assistan

3-D ‘Map’ of Enzyme Completed by MU Scientists Could Lead to More Effective Drugs

The human body is full of proteins called enzymes that help nearly every function in the body. Scientists have been studying enzymes for decades in order to learn how they work and how to create better drugs and medical treatments for many ailments.

Professor Hawthorne receives the National Medal of Science

President Barack Obama named University of Missouri researcher M. Frederick Hawthorne as recipient of the National Medal of Science, the highest honor bestowed by the country to scientists.

Professor John Adams Elected to ACS Board of Directors

John Adams, Curators’ Teaching Professor, has been elected to the board of directors of the American Chemical Society (ACS). His term will run from 2013 through 2015.

MU Research Team Creates New Cancer Drug that is 10 Times More Potent

Legend has it that Ralph Waldo Emerson once said, “Build a better mousetrap, and the world will beat a path to your door.” University of Missouri researchers are doing just that, but instead of building mousetraps, the scientists are targeting cancer drugs.

Professor JiJi receives an NSF Career Award

NSF Abstract of award--This CAREER award by the NSF Chemical Measurement and Imaging (CMI) program supports work by Professor Renee Jiji at the University of Missouri-Columbia to create an innovative research program focused on enhancing structural analysis of transmembr

Professor Jerry Atwood receives an award from the Royal Chemical Society

Professor Jerry Atwood is the recipient of the 2012 Supramolecular Chemistry Award from the Royal Chemical Society of England.

Federal Government Looks to MU to Assist with Shortage of Nuclear Experts

University of Missouri officials will host and direct summer schools aimed at recruiting undergraduates to explore careers in nuclear science.

Professor Silvia Jurisson wins the ACS Glenn T. Seaborg Award for Nuclear Chemistry

Although radiochemistry programs have been dwindling at universities across the U.S., exploration of the field is expanding at the University of Missouri, Columbia, largely because of the efforts of chemistry professor Silvia S. Jurisson.

Professor Carol Deakyne wins a 2012 Kemper Fellowship for Teaching Excellence

University of Missouri Chancellor Brady Deaton and Commerce Bank Chairman Jim Schatz of Commerce Bank awarded one of the 2012 William T. Kemper Fellowships for Teaching Excellence to Carol Deakyne, an associate professor in the Department of Chemistry in MU College of Arts and Science.

MU Chemistry Professor Mark Lee and his startup company receive funding

UM System leaders have announced EIP awards of up to $400,000 for HLB Horizons, a nanotechnology company that manufactures chemical compounds used in semiconductors and rechargeable batteries, and up to $200,000 for EternoGen, a medical-device company that produces a long-lasting biological colla

MU Scientists Study How to Improve Pesticide Efficiency

In 2007, a controversial pesticide was approved by the Food and Drug Administration for use on fruit and vegetable crops, mainly in California and Florida. Farm workers and scientists protested the approval of the pesticide because its active ingredient, methyl iodide, is a known carcinogen.

Professor Fred Hawthorne's uncommon research takes on common cancers

Cancer-survivor Professor M. Frederick Hawthorne has a heightened personal interest in the preclinical small-animal trials his research team is conducting on cancerous tumors. Hawthorne supported his wife, Diana, as she successfully battled breast cancer in 1977.

Professor Atwood Discovers Shortcut for Processing Drugs

A prolific University of Missouri chemist has discovered a quicker and easier method for pharmaceutical companies to make certain drugs.

Professor Tanner Receives New NIH Grant

X-Ray Diffraction May Play Key Role in Stopping 'Kissing Bug,' Fungus...If finding the cure for a fungus and parasite that affects millions of people were the subject of a detective show, University of Missouri Chemistry Professor Jack Tanner would be the forensic expert in the lab, usin

Professor Harmata receives Liebig Professorship Award

Harmata recently received the Liebig Professorship award from the Justus-Liebig University in Giessen, Germany, which connects him to one of the greatest organic chemists in the 19th century, Justus von Liebig.

Department of Homeland Security makes junior faculty award

The Department of Homeland Security, Domestic Nuclear Detection Office has awarded a Junior Faculty Award to Prof. Justin Walensky.

American Chemical Society selects MU chemistry professor as fellow

Prof. Dave Robertson has been named an American Chemical Society's (ACS) 2010 Fellow.

MU Chemistry professor receives ACS Founders' Award

Professor Emeritus Richard Loeppky received the Founders' Award from the ACS Division of Chemical Toxicology during the fall 2010 ACS national meeting in Boston.

Scientists Find Donut-Shaped Structure of Enzyme Involved in Energy Metabolism

If subway terminals didn’t exist and people had to exit subway stations to switch subway lines, transit time would increase. People also may encounter distractions, such as grabbing a cup of coffee, instead of getting on the other line.